Basic Keelboat & Basic Coastal Cruising Theory Classes

All of the Victoria Sailing School's courses are a combination of theory (taught at the Colorado Executive Club Building) and practical (taught at either Chatfield Reservoir, Cherry Creek Reservoir or Lake Carter) sessions .

Theory classes run from 7:00 to 10:00 p.m. on the dates indicated on the theory schedule shown below. Course outlines and all lecture notes are supplied by the school, but you should bring pencil and notebook to class. Students taking the ASA101 (Basic Keelboat Sailing) will attend the First Theory and the Know Your Knots sessions shown on the following schedules. Students taking the ASA103 (Basic Coastal Cruising) will attend all four of the theory sessions shown on the scheduler. Note: Theory # 1 for the Basic Keelboat and the Theory # 1 for the Basic Coastal Cruising course are the same theory. Theory sessions do not need to be taken in order, but it is better to take the first theory prior to any of the other theory or practical sessions. Practical sessions can start immediately after taking the first theory session.

 

Scheduling Practical (on the water) Classes:  After you have registered for a class, you will get an automated email containing your userid and password for our online reservation system.  You can schedule the "on the water" sessions to fit your schedule.  We sail 7 days a week, from 9:00 a.m. to noon, 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and (in the summer) 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.  Please note:  We need at least 2 students per practical session to be able to run a class.

Victoria Sailing School's ASA103 (Basic Coastal Cruising) course meets the requirements for most bareboat chartering companies operating in the U.S.  If you are chartering in Europe, you will probably need the ASA104 (Bareboat Chartering) certification.

Writing Exams:  Any of the nights that we are holding a regular 'First Theory' or a 'Know Your Knots' class, you can come a write exams.  Please arrive prior to 6:45 so that we can set you up without bothering a class in session.

 

Denver Theory Class Dates for 2020

 

Students can write their theory exams on any night there is a regularly scheduled theory class. There will be one final exam night on Thursday, November 12th, 2020.

First Theory

Required For Both the Basic Keelboat (ASA 101) & Basic Coastal Cruising ASA (103)

Know Your Knots

Required For Both the Basic Keelboat (ASA 101) & Basic Coastal Cruising ASA (103)

Second Theory

Required For Basic Coastal Cruising (ASA 103) Only

Third Theory

Required For Basic Coastal Cruising (ASA 103) Only

Monday, March 2
Also Available Online

Friday, March 6

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Monday, March 16
Also Available Online

Friday, March 20

Only Available Online Only Available Online

Monday, March 30
Also Available Online

Friday, April 3

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Tuesday, April 14
Also Available Online

Friday, April 17

Only Available Online Only Available Online

Thursday, April 30
Also Available Online

Friday, May 1

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Monday, May 11
Also Available Online

Friday, May 15

Only Available Online Only Available Online

Tuesday, May 26
Also Available Online

Friday, May 29


Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Thursday, June 11
Also Available Online

Friday, June 12

Only Available Online Only Available Online

Monday, June 22
Also Available Online

Friday, June 26

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Tuesday, July 7
Also Available Online

Friday, July 10

Only Available Online Only Available Online

Thursday, July 23
Also Available Online

Friday, July 24

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Monday, August 3
Also Available Online

Friday, August 7

Only Available Online Only Available Online

Tuesday, August 18
Also Available Online

Friday, August 21

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Thursday, September 3
Also Available Online

Friday, September 4

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Monday, September 14
Also Available Online

Friday, September 18

Only Available Online

Only Available Online

Tuesday, September 29
Also Available Online

 Friday, October 2
 Only Available Online  Only Available Online

 

Students can write their theory exams on any night there is a regularly scheduled theory class. There will be one final exam night on Thursday, November 12th, 2020.

 

info@VictoriaSailingSchool.com
Victoria Sailing School *** 1776 S. Jackson Street, Suite 116 *** Denver *** Colorado *** 80210 *** 303.697.7433 - (8:00 a.m to 5:00 p.m. please)